An important part of understanding grief is to know that it has 7 stages.

These stages are:

1. Shock and Denial
2. Pain and Guilt
3. Anger and Bargaining
4. Depression, Reflection, and Loneliness - when we accept the loss, but are unable to cope with it
5. The Upward Turn, which is the beginning of coping better with the loss
6. Reconstruction and Working Through our emotions and regaining control of our lives, and finally
7. Acceptance when we're ready to move on

Overcoming grief is a process. It is hence important that we are patient with ourselves or anyone else who is experiencing grief.